Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average

Sacramento River Wild figs

Hey my names Jesus aka chato9b
[Image: IMG-1254.jpg] [Image: IMG-1256.jpg] [Image: IMG-7337.jpg] [Image: IMG-7334.jpg] [Image: IMG-7326.jpg] [Image: IMG-1260.jpg] [Image: IMG-7352.jpg] [Image: IMG-7353.jpg] [Image: IMG-7354.jpg] [Image: IMG-7362.jpg] [Image: IMG-0496.jpg]

and I’ve been growing figs for about 4 years now but the last 2 years I’ve been hunting down wild figs some very unique varieties I’ve found .

Here are the 2 top female wild figs I found this year 2024 , I picked almost the last of its crops today .

The first one is shape is very similar to black mission the skin color is chalky blue but the taste is superior to BM with deep berry flavors and hints of grape , it is also a deep burgundy red interior. This fig never spoils has high sugar dries great on the tree.
I’m calling it Blue Slough .

And the Next fig has been a favorite at a few fig tasting that I held in Sacramento for its beauty it has a tiedye going on from green to pink splashes on the skin . It’s not the sweetest fig has some acid in there but is well balanced also some citrus note . This fig is a very good size also . the name is Pink TieDye

Both of these seedling have been found in the Sacramento River delta , my goal is to create my own orchard from wild varieties I hunt for fun on my spare time . Follow my journey and one day I will release these cool varieties I’m finding around the Sacramento River
9 Comments
Figless
@Chato9b . Jesus I am so glad to see you posting here on figfanatic. First off I have tasted many of Jesus incredible wild figs. This amazing member is a fig Detective who knows what he's doing. In the places he is hunting virtually all the figs are caprified. I tasted at least 15 of his varieties. Plus another 10 varieties from another wild Sacramento fig finder.